Concrete Rose

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.


International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that the only way he knows how: dealing for the King Lords. With this money he can help his mom, who works two jobs while his dad’s in prison.

Life’s not perfect, but with a fly girlfriend and a cousin who always has his back, Mav’s got everything under control.

Until, that is, Maverick finds out he’s a father.

Suddenly he has a baby, Seven, who depends on him for everything. But it’s not so easy to sling dope, finish school, and raise a child. So when he’s offered the chance to go straight, he takes it. In a world where he’s expected to amount to nothing, maybe Mav can prove he’s different.

When King Lord blood runs through your veins, though, you can't just walk away. Loyalty, revenge, and responsibility threaten to tear Mav apart, especially after the brutal murder of a loved one. He’ll have to figure out for himself what it really means to be a man.


  • Chapter 0

    Duration: 48s
  • Chapter 1 Part 1

    Duration: 20min
  • Chapter 2 Part 1

    Duration: 12min
  • Chapter 3 Part 1

    Duration: 18min
  • Chapter 4 Part 1

    Duration: 18min
  • Chapter 5 Part 1

    Duration: 15min
  • Chapter 6 Part 1

    Duration: 08min
  • Chapter 7 Part 1

    Duration: 27min
  • Chapter 8 Part 1

    Duration: 22min
  • Chapter 9 Part 1

    Duration: 19min
  • Chapter 10 Part 1

    Duration: 15min
  • Chapter 11 Part 1

    Duration: 11min
  • Chapter 12 Part 1

    Duration: 11min
  • Chapter 13 Part 1

    Duration: 24min
  • Chapter 14 Part 1

    Duration: 09min
  • Chapter 15 Part 1

    Duration: 10min
  • Chapter 16 Part 1

    Duration: 18min
  • Chapter 17 Part 1

    Duration: 27min
  • Chapter 18 Part 1

    Duration: 17min
  • Chapter 19 Part 1

    Duration: 23min
page 1 from 2