The Vanishing Stair

The Vanishing Stair


In New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson’s second novel in the Truly Devious series, there are more twists and turns than Stevie Bell can imagine. No answer is given freely, and someone will pay for the truth with their life.

The Truly Devious case—an unsolved kidnapping and triple murder that rocked Ellingham Academy in 1936—has consumed Stevie for years. It’s the very reason she came to the academy. But then her classmate was murdered, and her parents quickly pull her out of school. For her safety, they say. She must move past this obsession with crime.

Stevie’s willing to do anything to get back to Ellingham, be back with her friends, and solve the Truly Devious case. Even if it means making a deal with the despicable Senator Edward King. And when Stevie finally returns, she also returns to David: the guy she kissed, and the guy who lied about his identity—Edward King’s son.

But larger issues are at play. Where did the murderer hide? What’s the meaning of the riddle Albert Ellingham left behind? And what, exactly, is at stake in the Truly Devious affair? The Ellingham case isn’t just a piece of history—it’s a live wire into the present.

Praise for Book One:

“The Agatha Christie-like ecosystem pairs with lacerating contemporary wit, and alternating past and present scenes makes for a multilayered, modern detective story.” —New York Times Book Review

“Remember the first time reading Harry Potter and knowing it was special? There’s that same sense of magic in the introduction of teen Sherlock-in-training Stevie Bell.” —USA Today (four stars)

“Be still, my Agatha-Christie-loving beating heart.” —Bustle


  • chapter 01

    Duration: 13s

  • chapter 02

    Duration: 21s

  • chapter 03

    Duration: 12min

  • chapter 04

    Duration: 19min

  • chapter 05

    Duration: 10min

  • chapter 06

    Duration: 12min

  • chapter 07

    Duration: 17min

  • chapter 08

    Duration: 30min

  • chapter 09

    Duration: 13min

  • chapter 10

    Duration: 09min

  • chapter 11

    Duration: 24min

  • chapter 12

    Duration: 19min

  • chapter 13

    Duration: 22min

  • chapter 14

    Duration: 10min

  • chapter 15

    Duration: 18min

  • chapter 16

    Duration: 25min

  • chapter 17

    Duration: 13min

  • chapter 18

    Duration: 31min

  • chapter 19

    Duration: 26min

  • chapter 20

    Duration: 24min

  • chapter 21

    Duration: 17min

  • chapter 22

    Duration: 20min

  • chapter 23

    Duration: 19min

  • chapter 24

    Duration: 13min

  • chapter 25

    Duration: 16min

  • chapter 26

    Duration: 14min

  • chapter 27

    Duration: 12min

  • chapter 28

    Duration: 15min

  • chapter 29

    Duration: 14min

  • chapter 30

    Duration: 13min

  • chapter 31

    Duration: 09min

  • chapter 32

    Duration: 07min

  • chapter 33

    Duration: 23min

  • chapter 34

    Duration: 08min

  • chapter 35

    Duration: 37s