On Writing

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.

Synopsis

Join us every month as we speak with recently published or well established authors, gleaning insights and real tips from writers following their process from beginning to write, editing and proof reading, to finding an agent and publisher and finally finding an audience. Past guests include Joyce Carol-Oates, E.L James, John Safran, and Charlotte Wood.Twitter @_on_writing

Episodes

  • Episode 60 - Wayne Marshall - Shirl

    Episode 60 - Wayne Marshall - Shirl

    03/04/2020 Duration: 54min

    The book is Shirl, an eclectic collection of short stories that will surprise and dazzle but beneath it all, there is a beating heart and real insight into what it means to be a man in small town Australia. Wayne writes with a surrealist bent in the vein of George Saunders and Shirl draws to mind other ground breaking collections like Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's Friday Black. Wayne also has a touching story about why he started to write this collection and how it came to be published.

  • Episode 59 - Garry Disher - Peace

    Episode 59 - Garry Disher - Peace

    21/02/2020 Duration: 48min

    The guest is Gary Disher, the author of a number of novels over a career spanning decades. Gary's latest novel Peace is a beautifully wrought rural crime novel that starts off quietly and builds as the story progresses. Gary is a master of the craft and shares many of the insights he's gathered over a long and prolific career.

  • Episode 58 - Alice Bishop - A Constant Hum

    Episode 58 - Alice Bishop - A Constant Hum

    20/01/2020 Duration: 55min

    The guest is Alice Bishop, author of the short story collection A Constant Hum. Alice lost her family home in the Black Saturday bush fires in Australia and the stories of Hum are all linked to those fires in which 173 people died. Alice writes with sensitivity, capturing the details so perfectly to show the lives and experiences of those affected. In this interview she speaks with emotional honesty about the process of writing and researching Hum, and what we learnt, or perhaps didn't learn from the last catastrophic bush fires. Given the scale and devastation of the 2019/2020 fires it's a book everyone should read.

  • Episode 57 - Bram Presser - Book of Dirt

    Episode 57 - Bram Presser - Book of Dirt

    19/10/2019 Duration: 01h09min

    The guest is Bram Presser, multi-award winning author, lawyer, and punk rocker. His book is The Book of Dirt which we talk a lot about. We also talk a lot about writing to preserve family histories, the fallibility of memory and how it influences story telling, the 'Museum of the Extinct Race', pop novelists hijacking narratives around the Holocaust, and many other things.

  • Episode 56 - Susan Hurley - Eight Lives

    Episode 56 - Susan Hurley - Eight Lives

    18/09/2019 Duration: 56min

    The guest is Susan Hurley debut author of the medical thriller Eight Lives. Eight Lives is the story of David Tran and the drug he discovered which ultimately kills him in a failed medical trial. The novel maps all the cause leading to and the effects of his death. Susan speaks candidly about the struggles of getting this book published and her extensive experience in both the medical world and academic worlds.

  • Episode 55 - RWR McDonald - The Nancys

    Episode 55 - RWR McDonald - The Nancys

    16/07/2019 Duration: 52min

    The guest is Rob McDonald debut author of The Nancys. Rob is a fellow Kiwi and The Nancys is a riotous crime/coming-of-age story about Tippy Chan and her uncle and his boyfriend who, inspired by Nancy Drew, set out to solve a crime in a small town in South Island, New Zealand. We talk about 'breaking through,' writing small town real life settings and how to write a first novel.

  • Episode 54 - Mark Brandi - The Rip

    Episode 54 - Mark Brandi - The Rip

    03/06/2019 Duration: 01h02min

    Mark Brandi is the guest. His second novel The Rip explores many contemporary themes including homelessness and drug addiction. Like his debut Wimmera, The Rip is set in a place Mark knows well, Melbourne City. He talks us through his process and the ways real life inspires his stories. For years Mark worked in policy and has close ties to law enforcement.

  • Episode 53 - Laura Elizabeth Woollett - Beautiful Revolutionary

    Episode 53 - Laura Elizabeth Woollett - Beautiful Revolutionary

    23/04/2019 Duration: 51min

    Laura Elizabeth Woollett is the guest. The novel is Beautiful Revolutionary, a retelling of the events that led up to the mass suicide at The Peoples Temple. We talk about the appeal of cults, method writing, breaking through as a young writer and research. Laura's writing is crisp and evocative, and Beautiful Revolutionary was one of my favourite books of 2018.

  • Episode 52 - Dervla McTiernan - The Scholar

    Episode 52 - Dervla McTiernan - The Scholar

    04/03/2019 Duration: 45min

    The guest is Dervla McTiernan, author of the international bestseller The Ruin. Dervla talks brain cancer, Scrivener, being ambitious and how fantasy novels have shaped her approach as a crime fiction writer. We also talk about her outstanding second novel The Scholar.

  • Episode 51 - Stuart Turton - The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

    Episode 51 - Stuart Turton - The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

    19/01/2019 Duration: 57min

    The guest is Stuart Turton author of the Costa prize winning novel The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. Stuart talks about his development as a writer and the challenges of writing whilst helping to raise a young family. We also talk about reviews, Agatha Christie and deliberately getting lost in a forest.

  • Episode 50 - Sarah Bailey - Into the Night

    Episode 50 - Sarah Bailey - Into the Night

    14/12/2018 Duration: 01h09min

    Sarah Bailey is the guest. In this bumper episode I talk about some of my favourite books of the year before speaking with the author of two Gemma Woodstock crime novels, Into the Night and The Dark Lake. We also talk about the feeling of flow, flawed characters and high expectations. 

  • Episode 49 - Trent Dalton - Boy Swallows Universe

    Episode 49 - Trent Dalton - Boy Swallows Universe

    08/11/2018 Duration: 55min

    The guest is journalist and novelist Trent Dalton whose debut, Boy Swallows Universe, has become an instant Australian classic that is publishing into markets around the world. The story draws heavily on events in Trent's life and we speak about fictionalising biographical elements of novels, writing highly personal narratives and about Slim, a real life prison escape artist who happened to baby sit Trent.

  • Episode 48 - AJ Finn - The Woman in the Window

    Episode 48 - AJ Finn - The Woman in the Window

    18/10/2018 Duration: 34min

    AJ Finn aka Daniel Mallory is the guest. We talk about big book advances, meeting Amy Adams, book trends, and moving from publishing into writing books.

  • Episode 47 - Robert Lukins  Stephanie Bishop - Man out of Time

    Episode 47 - Robert Lukins & Stephanie Bishop - Man out of Time

    11/10/2018 Duration: 53min

    Robert Lukins, author of The Everlasting Sunday, speaks with Stephanie Bishop for the Booklovers festival. Robert and Stephanie talk about Stephanie's brilliant and enigmatic literary novel, Man out of Time.

  • Episode 46 - Sarah  Sarah - Sisters in Crime

    Episode 46 - Sarah & Sarah - Sisters in Crime

    27/09/2018 Duration: 01h11min

    A very special episode from the Booklovers Festival in Melbourne brings Sarah Schmidt and Sarah Krasnostein together for a live conversation. Sarah & Sarah talk about writing dark themes, their first written work, writing about death and dying, and take questions from the audience.

  • Episode 45 - Angela Meyer - A Superior Spectre

    Episode 45 - Angela Meyer - A Superior Spectre

    17/09/2018 Duration: 48min

    The guest is Angela Meyer, her novel is called A Superior Spectre. Angela is a commissioning editor as well as a novelist, and brings tremendous insight into writing a book and finding a publisher. As someone who has sat on either side of the table Angela brings fresh perspective to subjects such as finding an agent, dealing with rejection, writing for an audience, and selling your debut novel.

  • Episode 44 - Robbie Arnott - Flames

    Episode 44 - Robbie Arnott - Flames

    05/09/2018 Duration: 52min

    Robbie Arnott is the guest. His debut novel, Flames, is a staggeringly imaginative work of literary fiction. It's set in Robbie's home state of Tasmania and bends genres to explore themes of family, renewal and the nature. We talk about writing place, meeting famous authors and Robbie's process. Flames is my favourite book of 2018,

  • Episode 43 - Megan Goldin - The Escape Room

    Episode 43 - Megan Goldin - The Escape Room

    23/08/2018 Duration: 44min

    Megan Goldin is the best selling author of The Girl from Kellers Way and The Escape Room. Megan talks about the corporate world, writing novels set in the USA and breaking through as an author.

  • Episode 42 - Bella Li - Lost Lake (Poetry)

    Episode 42 - Bella Li - Lost Lake (Poetry)

    09/08/2018 Duration: 54min

    Bella Li is an award winning Australian poet. Her work is surreal and ambitious, assembling poetry, collage and photography. Her books are simply beautiful. We talk about ruptured achilles tendons, research for poetry, and attempt to answer what good poetry is.

  • Episode 41 - Christian White - The Nowhere Child

    Episode 41 - Christian White - The Nowhere Child

    20/07/2018 Duration: 51min

    Christian White is the guest, his debut novel is The Nowhere Child. Christian won the VPLA unpublished manuscript prize and his novel is set to be published in the UK, US and twelve other countries. The novel asks the readers one question: who took Sammy Went? The answer is found across two continents, and three decades in the past. We talk about what it means to win an unpublished manuscript prize, toxic Goodreads reviews, the dreaded second novel and adapting work for screen.

Informações: