Where The Past Begins: A Writer's Memoir

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.


In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement Amy Tan reveals herself in a way she never has before, delving into her childhood, adolescence, family history, beginnings as a writer and professional life to explore the answers to questions of purpose and meaning that we all ask ourselves as we get older.

Moving from her childhood in Oakland and growing up with her Chinese parents through her success as a novelist, Amy Tan delves into her creative interests in music, the paralysis of beginning a new project, journal-writing and travelling. Where the Past Begins chronicles the making of a writer. With characteristic humor and poignant observation, Tan weaves a nontraditional introspective narrative that is as complex and vibrant as this beloved American novelist’s fiction. Interspersed with direct correspondence between the author and her editor, this audiobook will give fans and critics unparalleled insight into the author’s process, her thoughts on the literary enterprise, and her singularly warm, intelligent mind.


  • 021 Chapter 08, Part 1

    Duration: 01h07min
  • 022 Chapter 08, Part 2

    Duration: 20min
  • 023 Reliable Witness

    Duration: 01min
  • 024 Reading and Writing

    Duration: 09min
  • 025 Chapter 09

    Duration: 01h01min
  • 026 Splayed Poem - The Road

    Duration: 01min
  • 027 Eidolons

    Duration: 57s
  • 028 Chapter 10

    Duration: 01h03min
  • 029 Chapter 11

    Duration: 01h12min
  • 030 Why Write

    Duration: 01min
  • 031 Chapter 12

    Duration: 38min
  • 032 Intestinal Fortitude

    Duration: 43s
  • 033 Chapter 13

    Duration: 57min
  • 034 Epilogue

    Duration: 19min
  • 035 Acknowledgments

    Duration: 03min
  • 036 Credits

    Duration: 01min
page 2 from 2