Glory Over Everything: Beyond The Kitchen House

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.


The latest New York Times bestseller from the author of the beloved book club favorite The Kitchen House is a heart racing story about a man’s treacherous journey through the twists and turns of the Underground Railroad on a mission to save the boy he swore to protect. Glory Over Everything is “gripping…breathless until the end” (Kirkus Reviews).

The year is 1830 and Jamie Pyke, a celebrated silversmith and notorious ladies’ man, is keeping a deadly secret. Passing as a wealthy white aristocrat in Philadelphian society, Jamie is now living a life he could never have imagined years before when he was a runaway slave, son of a southern black slave and her master. But Jamie’s carefully constructed world is threatened when he discovers that his married socialite lover, Caroline, is pregnant and his beloved servant Pan, to whose father Jamie owes his own freedom, has been captured and sold into slavery in the South.

Fleeing the consequences of his deceptions, Jamie embarks on a trip to a North Carolina plantation to save Pan from the life he himself barely escaped as a boy. With the help of a fearless slave, Sukey, who has taken the terrified young boy under her wing, Jamie navigates their way, racing against time and their ruthless pursuers through the Virginia backwoods, the Underground Railroad, and the treacherous Great Dismal Swamp.

“Kathleen Grissom is a first-rate storyteller…she observes with an unwavering but kind eye, and she bestows upon the reader, amid terrible secrets and sin, a gift of mercy: the belief that hope can triumph over hell” (Richmond Times Dispatch). Glory Over Everything is an emotionally rewarding and epic novel “filled with romance, villains, violence, courage, compassion…and suspense.” (Florida Courier).


  • GloryOverEverything 01 Title

    Duration: 42s
  • GloryOverEverything 02 Part1Ch1

    Duration: 31min
  • GloryOverEverything 03 Ch2

    Duration: 16min
  • GloryOverEverything 04 Ch3

    Duration: 06min
  • GloryOverEverything 05 Ch4

    Duration: 03min
  • GloryOverEverything 06 Ch5

    Duration: 10min
  • GloryOverEverything 07 Ch6

    Duration: 12min
  • GloryOverEverything 08 Ch7

    Duration: 05min
  • GloryOverEverything 09 Ch8

    Duration: 23min
  • GloryOverEverything 10 Part2Ch9

    Duration: 27min
  • GloryOverEverything 11 Ch10

    Duration: 46min
  • GloryOverEverything 12 Ch11

    Duration: 17min
  • GloryOverEverything 13 Ch12

    Duration: 15min
  • GloryOverEverything 14 Ch13

    Duration: 10min
  • GloryOverEverything 15 Ch14

    Duration: 31min
  • GloryOverEverything 16 Ch15

    Duration: 25min
  • GloryOverEverything 17 Ch16

    Duration: 07min
  • GloryOverEverything 18 Ch17

    Duration: 10min
  • GloryOverEverything 19 Ch18

    Duration: 03min
  • GloryOverEverything 20 Ch19

    Duration: 10min
page 1 from 3