I'm Glad My Mom Died

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.


A heartbreaking and hilarious memoir by iCarly and Sam & Cat star Jennette McCurdy about her struggles as a former child actor—including eating disorders, addiction, and a complicated relationship with her overbearing mother—and how she retook control of her life.

Jennette McCurdy was six years old when she had her first acting audition. Her mother’s dream was for her only daughter to become a star, and Jennette would do anything to make her mother happy. So she went along with what Mom called “calorie restriction,” eating little and weighing herself five times a day. She endured extensive at-home makeovers while Mom chided, “Your eyelashes are invisible, okay? You think Dakota Fanning doesn’t tint hers?” She was even showered by Mom until age sixteen while sharing her diaries, email, and all her income.

In I’m Glad My Mom Died, Jennette recounts all this in unflinching detail—just as she chronicles what happens when the dream finally comes true. Cast in a new Nickelodeon series called iCarly, she is thrust into fame. Though Mom is ecstatic, emailing fan club moderators and getting on a first-name basis with the paparazzi (“Hi Gale!”), Jennette is riddled with anxiety, shame, and self-loathing, which manifest into eating disorders, addiction, and a series of unhealthy relationships. These issues only get worse when, soon after taking the lead in the iCarly spinoff Sam & Cat alongside Ariana Grande, her mother dies of cancer. Finally, after discovering therapy and quitting acting, Jennette embarks on recovery and decides for the first time in her life what she really wants.

Told with refreshing candor and dark humor, I’m Glad My Mom Died is an inspiring story of resilience, independence, and the joy of shampooing your own hair.


  • 081 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch78

    Duration: 02min
  • 082 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch79

    Duration: 01min
  • 083 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch80

    Duration: 05min
  • 084 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch81

    Duration: 02min
  • 085 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch82

    Duration: 02min
  • 086 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch83

    Duration: 06min
  • 087 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch84

    Duration: 06min
  • 088 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch85

    Duration: 01min
  • 089 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch86

    Duration: 01min
  • 090 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch87

    Duration: 03min
  • 091 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch88

    Duration: 05min
  • 092 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch89

    Duration: 02min
  • 093 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch90

    Duration: 02min
  • 094 ImGladMyMomDied After Ch91

    Duration: 04min
  • 095 ImGladMyMomDied Acknowledgments

    Duration: 54s
  • 096 ImGladMyMomDied Close

    Duration: 26s
page 5 from 5